What’s In My Camera Bag?

For some odd reason everyone wants to know what is in each other’s bags whether it be a purse, backpack, or makeup bag. It has been trending all over the web, especially on YouTube with the help of popular beauty gurus such as MichellePhan, Juicystar07, Macbarbie07, and Missglamorazzi. However, I am going to change this trend a bit.

I believe I am one of the only few girls in the world who, instead of carrying a purse, carries a camera bag. I see no need to carry a purse because I simply do not have enough items to require a purse. My camera bag ends up serving as my purse and my camera bag because when I am on an assignment it is just easier to carry one of the two and not both. Luckily, my camera bag gives me the space needed to have this sort of luxury.

So, let’s meet this camera bag of mine:

_DSC0010

Nikon Black Digital SLR Camera Bag from Target.com, $46.79

I bought this camera bag in the fall of 2012 on a random day browsing in Target because my previous bag did not supply the adequate amount of room for my camera body, lens, and other accessories. So far this bag has shown its durability through countless football games, car rides, and running around town days. However, I will do a full review on this camera bag later on!

Inside the bag:

_DSC0027

ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared) from Nikon, prices may vary ($20.50 on Nikon site)

This is a lifesaver when you are in need to take a photo hands-free. I purchased this when I needed to take a picture inside a fridge for a yearbook spread earlier in the fall of 2012, and since then it has kept a permanent home in my camera bag. I do not use it that often, but when I do need it, it is simple to just click the grey button and shoot to my heart’s content. A review and how-to set us this remote will come later!

_DSC0066

Zeikos Memory Card Wallet, $3.94 on Overstock.com

You can find many of these memory card wallets all over the web. This one I got as a gift for Christmas with my Polaroid Camera, but I keep it in my camera bag to help me organize my memory cards. This wallet holds three slots for memory cards and even comes with mini cards that you can write on to identify which memory card is which. However, when using a memory card wallet make sure you have individual plastic memory card holders for extra protection!

_DSC0065

Quantaray XLF-50 from Amazon.com, $95.50

This was a last-minute purchase from Wolf Camera during their closing sale at my local mall. It was a total life saver when I was taking homecoming photos at my high school. Sure I have a pop-up flash already on my Nikon D5000, but this one is not as harsh, can be moved to different angles, and very easy to operate.

_DSC0059 (1)

UC-E6 USB Cable from Nikon, $10.95

This cord came with my purchase of my Nikon D5000. I use this to import photos onto my computer and so far it has been efficient and easy to use. However, if you are looking for a more compact way of importing photos onto your computer I would recommend a memory card reader.

_DSC0058

Memory Card Holder, prices may vary

I am not exactly sure what brand and or where I got this memory card holder, but there are plenty online and are very helpful. I use this to organize and store my memory cards when they are not being used. My memory card holder contains 12 slots for the size memory cards I use and then 12 more for bigger memory cards.

_DSC0055

iPod Nano from Apple, $149 for the current model

Call me old-fashioned, but I still use an iPod Nano (2 GB) from 2005. It holds just enough songs to keep me entertained while I am being taken to photography events and or waiting.

_DSC0039

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR from Nikon, $999.95

My favorite camera lens so far has been this baby! It has incredible length and quality for sports photography and everyday use. I take this everywhere despite its bulky structure and weight. Full review and example photos will be coming soon!

_DSC0035

Nikon D5000, $749.95 from Amazon.com

In the spring of 2010 I received my first DSLR camera for my trip to Europe that summer. Since then I have loved and lugged this camera around to all my events. It is incredibly light, easy to hold, and easy to navigate for the novice photographer I was back then and even today!

_DSC0030 (1)

Wallet, from Etsy.com, $30

Whenever I go to an event I need to photograph I always bring my wallet to pay for games and food and to keep my iPhone and identification in. Plus, it’s easy to carry around with its wrist strap!

So what’s in your camera bag?

Other Links for Inspiration:

What’s In My Camera Bag from Greg Brett

What’s In My Camera Bag from Dave Morrow

12 Camera Bag Essentials from Adorama

Get Organized: Tidy Up Your Camera Bag from PCMag.com

Leave a comment